Celebrating NAIDOC Week - Did you know?

By Rise
04 July 2021
The Australian Aboriginal flag was designed by artist Harold Thomas and was first flown in South Australia on National Aborigines Day in July 1971. It has since become a widely recognised symbol of unity and identity for Aboriginal people.

The meaning of the three colours on the flag are:
  • Black - represents the Aboriginal people of Australia.
  • Yellow Circle - represents the Sun, the giver of life and protector.
  • Red - represents the red earth, the red ochre used in ceremonies and Aboriginal people spiritual relation to the land.
The Torres Strait Islander flag was designed by Bernard Namok as a symbol of unity and identity for the Torres Strait Islander people. It was first recognised by the Australian Government in July 1995 as an official 'Flag of Australia'.

The flag has three horizontal panels, with green at the top and bottom, and blue in between. The meanings of the colours in the flag are:
  • Green - represents the land.
  • Black - represents the Indigenous peoples.
  • Blue - represents the sea.
  • White - represents peace.
To read more, visit https://www.naidoc.org.au/about/indigenous-australian-flags.
General enquiry
New client enquiry

(08) 6274 3700


extraMile by Integranet